Judicial Merit Selection Commission

Rep. Micajah P. "Micah" Caskey, IV, Chairman Sen. Luke A. Rankin, Vice-Chairman Sen. George E. "Chip" Campsen III Sen. Overture Walker Rep. Wallace H. "Jay" Jordan, Jr. Rep. Leonidas E. "Leon" Stavrinakis Mary Agnes Hood Craig Lanneau Wm. Lambert Jr. John T. Lay Peter D. Protopapas Christian Stegmaier The Honorable Joseph Monroe Strickland



Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel Kate Crater, Counsel

Post Office Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 (803) 212-6623

MEDIA RELEASE

July 21, 2025

The Judicial Merit Selection Commission is accepting applications for the judicial offices listed below:

The term of office currently held by the Honorable John C. Few, Justice of the Supreme Court, Seat 2, will expire July 31, 2026.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Stephanie Pendarvis McDonald, Judge of the Court of Appeals, Seat 7, will expire June 30, 2026.

A vacancy exists in the office formerly held by the Honorable Kristi F. Curtis, Judge of the Circuit Court, Third Judicial Circuit, Seat 2, upon her election to the Court of Appeals, Seat 2. The successor will serve the remainder of the unexpired term of that office, which expires June 30, 2030.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Debbie R. McCaslin, Judge of the Circuit Court, Eleventh Judicial Circuit, Seat 3, will expire June 30, 2026.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable H. Steven DeBerry IV, Judge of the Circuit Court, Twelfth Judicial Circuit, Seat 3, will expire June 30, 2026.

A vacancy exists in the office formerly held by the Honorable Daniel Hall, Judge of the Circuit Court, Sixteenth Judicial Circuit, Seat 2, upon his retirement. The successor will serve the remainder of the unexpired term of that office, which expires June 30, 2028.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Milton G. Kimpson, Judge of the Circuit Court, At-Large, Seat 5, will expire June 30, 2026.

A vacancy will exist in the office currently held by the Honorable Angela R. Taylor, Judge of the Family Court, Third Judicial Circuit, Seat 2, upon her retirement on or before December 31, 2026. The successor will serve the remainder of the unexpired term of that office, which will expire June 30, 2031.

A vacancy exists in the office formerly held by the Honorable Eugene P. Warr Jr., Judge of the Family Court, Fourth Judicial Circuit, Seat 3, upon his election to the Circuit Court, Fourth Circuit, Seat 2. The successor will serve a new term of that office, which will expire June 30, 2032.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Debra A. Matthews, Judge of the Family Court, Sixth Judicial Circuit, Seat 2, will expire June 30, 2026.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Spiros Stavros Ferderigos, Judge of the Family Court, Ninth Judicial Circuit, Seat 5, will expire June 30, 2026.

A vacancy will exist in the newly created seat for Family Court, Ninth Judicial Circuit, Seat 7. The term will be from July 1, 2026, until June 30, 2032.

A vacancy will exist in the newly created seat for Family Court, Eleventh Judicial Circuit, Seat 4. The term will be from July 1, 2026, until June 30, 2032.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Tarita A. Dunbar, Judge of the Family Court, Thirteenth Judicial Circuit, Seat 5, will expire June 30, 2026.

A vacancy exists in the office formerly held by the Honorable Deborah Ann Malphrus, Judge of the Family Court, Fourteenth Judicial Circuit, Seat 3, upon her retirement. The successor will serve the remainder of the unexpired term, which will expire June 30, 2031.

A vacancy will exist in the newly created seat for Family Court, Fourteenth Judicial Circuit, Seat 4. The term will be from July 1, 2026, until June 30, 2032.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Melissa M. Frazier, Judge of the Family Court, Fifteenth Judicial Circuit, Seat 3, will expire June 30, 2026.

A vacancy exists in the office formerly held by the Honorable Deborah Brooks Durden, Judge of the Administrative Law Court, Seat 4, upon her retirement. The successor will serve the remainder of the unexpired term of that office, which expires June 30, 2030.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Sebastian Phillip Lenski, Judge of the Administrative Law Court, Seat 6, will expire June 30, 2026.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable J. Camden West, Master-in-Equity for Berkeley County, will expire November 7, 2026.

To receive application materials, a prospective candidate, including judges seeking re-election, must notify the Commission in writing of his or her intent to apply. Note that an email will suffice for written notification.

All completed application packets must be received by the Commission by 12:00 pm, noon, on Monday, August 25, 2025. For information on previous screenings and other JMSC-related information, please go to:

 $\underline{https://www.scstatehouse.gov/JudicialMeritPage/JMSCMainPage.php}$

Correspondence and questions should be directed to the Judicial Merit Selection Commission as follows:

Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel
Post Office Box 142
Columbia, South Carolina 29202
ErinCrawford@scsenate.gov or (803) 212-6689